Dancing off the Edge

with Jenny T. Partridge

Newsletter updates from Natalie M. Roberts

Posted by jennytpartridge on February 5, 2008

Hello all,

It’s been a while since I sent out a newsletter. All my spare time, which isn’t a lot, is going to writing, as I plot my escape to Islamorada. “Huh?” you might ask. “Islamorada?” you might think. “Where and what is that?”

On New Year’s Eve, I was home, writing away, working on THE TIES THAT BIND, a book for St. Martin’s. My children were portioned out to various friends’ houses, and since I’m not big into the party scene, I was using the time to write.

I was also wishing myself far, far, away. Somewhere warm, since Utah has been slammed this year with snow storm after snow storm. Hasn’t everyone wanted to start their life over, somewhere new, at one point or another. Especially when you live in the North Pole and your name AIN’T Santa Claus….

Example:

 

I took this picture a few weeks ago, and it was just one of MANY storms to hit us. On my computer desktop, I have a weather thingie that tells me what to expect, weather-wise, and also tells me where people are having MUCH MORE FUN than I am. Well, it doesn’t say that, but it might as well. It should just flash THESE PEOPLE ARE SITTING ON THE BEACH DRINKING PINA COLADAS AND YOU AREN’T. Stupid weather thingie. That night, the warmest spot in the United States was Marathon Shores, Florida. Curious, and easily distracted, I wandered off to Google and did a search. I discovered Marathon Shores is in the Florida Keys. I’ve been to Key West ONE time, for a few hours (cruise) and I loved it.

 
So I spent the next few hou…er, minutes, perusing the pages of the Florida Keys. Islamorada became my hot spot, just because the NAME is so exotic, and of course, the place sounds pretty cool itself.

 
And I began to weave this story of myself, in Islamorada, escaping from the rigors of life, lounging on the beach.

 It’s a dream but hey, it could become reality. Or maybe even a BOOK. That research would be fun!

I know, I know, spring will come soon enough.

On the writing scene,  POINTE AND SHOOT is coming out in May. This is my favorite book in the series, and I think you will like it, too. Jenny grows up a little more, still finds herself in some serious hot water, and discovers that life as a dance teacher is tantamount to working in a loony bin. Or close.

To help you stay warm, here’s a hot cocoa recipe my Mormon mother swears by. She’s a cocoa connoisseur, so this one HAS to be good.

Hot Cocoa

RECIPE INGREDIENTS:

2 cups nonfat dry milk powder
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/2 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup powdered nondairy creamer
1/8 teaspoon salt

1. Measure all of the ingredients into a mixing bowl and whisk them until they are evenly blended.
2. Store the mix in a tightly covered container at room temperature until you’re ready to package it. Makes about 4 cups of mix.

Well, that’s all for now, but I wish you all a MUCH WARMER and DRYER winter than we are having. Until next time….
–Natalie
www.nataliercollins.com
www.nataliemroberts.com
www.jennytpartridge.com

Leave a Reply

 
